Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:37 am Post subject:
Quick Guide on How to compile the DLLs on Visual Studio
The TiberianDawn.DLL and RedAlert.DLL are the files that determine the way Tiberian Dawn and Red Alert runs respectively in the C&C: Remastered Collection. It defines the behavior of the characters, gameplay, physics, and AI.
The first step to modify these files is to access its source code. In order to do that, download the latest source code at EA's GitHub:
The next step is getting something that will be able to compile it. The free solution we can offer is Visual Studio Community 2017 or 2019. The 2017 can be downloaded at the link below:
Run the installer and make sure you check the C++ desktop development workflow, at the individual components, make sure you check Visual C++ ATL for x86 and x64 and Visual C++ MFC for x86 and x64. I am not sure if the C++ game development workflow is a requirement, but I would check that too.
Once you finish installing it, run the solution file CnCRemastered.sln that is in the root of the source code directories. If you proceeded so far, you will be able to compile both game DLLs out of the box.
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:40 pm Post subject:
Did you copy the entire message? Sometimes the error goes beyond it. And with what you've posted so far, it is hard to figure out where is it messed up. QUICK_EDIT
I'm struggling to create the DLL files for Tiberian Dawn, i have opened CnCRemastered.sln made some changes, now how do i get is as dll file for Tiberian Dawn? QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 4:08 pm Post subject:
By default, these vcxproj are set to generate the DLL files instead of the executable, so, you can always get the original ones back and even compare them with your files using a program like Meld. QUICK_EDIT
By default, these vcxproj are set to generate the DLL files instead of the executable, so, you can always get the original ones back and even compare them with your files using a program like Meld.
Thanks for the response, i've seen the vcxproj but i can't locate the actual DLL? do i have to build the solution trhough the vxcproj file? QUICK_EDIT
By default, these vcxproj are set to generate the DLL files instead of the executable, so, you can always get the original ones back and even compare them with your files using a program like Meld.
Thanks for the response, i've seen the vcxproj but i can't locate the actual DLL? do i have to build the solution trhough the vxcproj file? QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 6:58 am Post subject:
The sln file loads the vcxproj, so if you build the project, you build the vcxproj. If you build the solution, you build both vcxprojs (TiberianDawn and RedAlert).
Anyway, the output is stored on the vcxproj file in two different sections. In TiberianDawn one, it looks like this:
The sln file loads the vcxproj, so if you build the project, you build the vcxproj. If you build the solution, you build both vcxprojs (TiberianDawn and RedAlert).
Anyway, the output is stored on the vcxproj file in two different sections. In TiberianDawn one, it looks like this:
If you get an error about afxres.h, open the Visual C++ installer, hit "modify" on your installed copy, go to "individual components" and look for things labeled MFC and install those. QUICK_EDIT
If you get an error about afxres.h, open the Visual C++ installer, hit "modify" on your installed copy, go to "individual components" and look for things labeled MFC and install those.
Hey thanks for the post, I have downloaded the software, made a change to udata to add a new unit and tried to build the project but receive 2 errors for each resource the first is C1083 cannot open file and the second is E020 identifier "" is not identified. I can see all the source files within VS with the correct file path property so not sure whats wrong. Any help would be great QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 7:55 am Post subject:
@Hambo-Kun: With these individual MFC and ATL components selected, hit Install while downloading. Restart the Visual Studio later and if that fails, restart your pc.
munkle555 wrote:
but receive 2 errors for each resource the first is C1083 cannot open file and the second is E020 identifier "" is not identified.
Which file could not be opened? Sometimes the file that could not be opened is exactly the one that has the identifier that is not identified. Make sure you are not running the game when you try to compile the DLL files.
CabalCore wrote:
So once you have the dlls. What do you use exactly to edit the units and buildings? And also does it have a rules.ini?
@Hambo-Kun: With these individual MFC and ATL components selected, hit Install while downloading. Restart the Visual Studio later and if that fails, restart your pc.
munkle555 wrote:
but receive 2 errors for each resource the first is C1083 cannot open file and the second is E020 identifier "" is not identified.
Which file could not be opened? Sometimes the file that could not be opened is exactly the one that has the identifier that is not identified. Make sure you are not running the game when you try to compile the DLL files.
CabalCore wrote:
So once you have the dlls. What do you use exactly to edit the units and buildings? And also does it have a rules.ini?
Thanks for the reply, I had to play around with components but I managed to get it to work, Not sure exactly what but I turned on anything relating to C++ QUICK_EDIT
I want to revert the skirmish AI to it's classic RA counterpart (where is builds a massive base, has defenses and gathers up a huge force and attacks the player or opponent) for both TD and RA. Where would I go to do this? QUICK_EDIT
Well one thing i could make in TD was edit a little the missions in the campaing, but i cant still edit the "build level" for example.
Every mission has a "tech level" but even if you change from 1,2....to 15 (the higher one) the mission is still the same =/
With the DLL files, its possible to change the level from the builds and army? QUICK_EDIT
Did some reading - if anybody else has this stupid question of mine:
Only the .dlls were released under the GNU-license. So you have to own (either the original or?) the newly released game in order to exchange the .dlls with the ones you modded. Then, you start the .exe that came with the bought games.
Too bad, would have liked to be able to compile the whole game on my own, but really impressing, how much code there ist for half the game and how long it takes to compile - a game from the 90s!
So, that's where you need all the cores for! QUICK_EDIT
Different groups such as https://github.com/hifi/Vanilla-Conquer are working on standalone builds, but they will only work with the original low res assets when they are complete. QUICK_EDIT
Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 4:31 am Post subject:
Compiled RA and TiberianDawn.dll
I own Command and Conquer Remastered edition. I am successful in compiling the source code to produce both the RedAlert.dll and TiberianDawn.dll. Theoretically, I should be able to copy both these newly created dlls to the CnC Remastered directory that has the original RedAlert and TiberianDawn.dlls and run the game successfully.
Unfortunately, it does not work. It produces a huge crash report which I am currently investigating. According to one of the logs, it states that it can't add Data\CutScences.meg etc... The problem is that CutScences.meg does not exist in the CnC Remastered DATA directory!!! Anyone have an ideas?? QUICK_EDIT
I have the Workloads and Individual Components installed that are recommended. To test that my installed copy of Visual Studio can compile correctly, I attempted to build unaltered RA from the source code provided with the game's installation. Unfortunately, I get the errors shown in the posted screenshot. There are a total of 182 errors and 552 warnings, but this screenshot probably shows a sufficient sampling of the errors as they all just repeat the error shown here but with all of the .CPP files. I haven't seen this error posted before, so I do not know its cause. Any assistance in being able to overcome this and compiling the DLLs is greatly appreciated.
It looks like Visual Studio is trying to interpret these files in code page 932 (seems to be some sort of Japanese code page) rather than in the standard English code page it should be using.
I have no clue how to get VS to interpret things correctly though. QUICK_EDIT
Well, I am not VS or C++ savvy; but got an interesting one.
Compiling the provided, unchanged source causes RA to immediately crash when it tries to load a game. TD loads fine; however there are some weird crashes with it as well.
One thing I noticed was the compiled DLL was 2 KB smaller than the DLL in the main directory.
Is there a VS setting somewhere that needs to be changed? Game runs fine with the provided DLL in the mods folder.
So far all I do is add the WINDOWS_IGNORE_PACKING_MISMATCH and set it to Windows 10.0 SDK and v142. QUICK_EDIT
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum